top of page
  • Writer's pictureFarhad Merchant

And Life Goes On

Updated: Jun 12, 2023

Life’s going on as usual I guess there’s nothing much to say You’re not here & I’m not there I miss you everyday The summer’s gone along with May, & Monsoon’s here to stay The sky overcast, no dusk nor dawn And, yet somehow, Life Goes On.

The summer fruits, by the heap Mostly rotted, but very cheap While the monsoon reap, Gives a peep With prices pretty steep It’s the season of con, Spirit of competition gone And, yet somehow, Life Goes On.

There is a change in the vendors cry Such that one is compelled to buy His face bent down, His cry forlorn He sells corn, That’s woebegone Every minute, there’s a sucker born And, yet somehow, Life Goes On.

Like the rains, I weep - I just cannot sleep I’m in love - neck deep I’m not a sheep, Nor am I a fawn In your hands, I’m but a pawn And, yet somehow, Life Goes On.

All the rest is stale stuff, There’s nothing left to add You’re not here and I’m not there I miss you like mad The summer’s gone, along with May The monsoon’s here to stay The heavy rains have flooded my lawn And, yet somehow, Life Goes On.



Written largely during my teens (Nostalgia 87-91)


220 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page