top of page
  • Writer's pictureFarhad Merchant

Unrequited Love | Hilarious Hinglish!

Updated: Dec 10, 2022

Dil toh nasoor ho chala. Dil ka kasoor kya bhala. Kahee khwaishon ka kiya izhaar. Har inkaar ko kiya sweekaar. Jawaab-e-ishq ka tha intezaar. Na jaane kabse tha dil bekaraar. Tanhaaee mein humne li panaah. Par bach na sakey - hum huey fanaah.


After posting a short hindi rhyme in 2010, my friend Ravi (who didn't follow Hindi), asked for an explanation. This was my feeble attempt at translating this for old times sake - sounds hilarious! Read at your own risk. I don't claim to be a linguist, so please excuse the transgression of boundaries in the name of poetic license.

It indicated its many desires. (They promised, those damn liars!). The heart is getting numb. (Ravi-this is dumb).

What is the fault of the heart? (It did not even fart). Every denial was accepted by me. (I had no option, you see). Was waiting for the answer to my love. (To make peace, I even sent the dove). Who knows how long the heart was restless. (I had warned u about this). I took shelter in solitude. (I also refrained from being lewd). But couldn't survive - I perished. (In controversy, this poem is embellished).



40 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page