top of page
  • Writer's pictureFarhad Merchant

Living Zindagi!

Updated: Jun 12, 2023

A blended Hinglish Sonnet!

Life seems to pass us by.

While laughter gets us high,

At times it makes us cry.

Leisure begs to question why,

Increasing our pace, we try;

Truth we face, and let it lie.

Either way, we live to die!


Zindagi yuhi behlati hai;

Kabhi haste guzarti hai,

Kabhi thoda rulati hai;

Kabhi ruk ruk ke chalti hai,

Kabhi aage nikal jaati hai;

Sachaayee se saamna karati hai.

Aur saala jeena sikhaati hai!


"The world is learning to blend
and has not yet come to an end
So this little sonnet I penned
Hope you like it, my friend!"

A year has passed seeming like a decade; We pray that this test has us stronger made. The reality is grimmer than any fiction known; It has made us grieve and cry and mourn. With hope in my heart, I bow my head; Asking God to deliver us from this dread

Recoveries and cures have been delayed; Many loved ones to rest, we’ve laid; For a sense of normalcy, we have prayed; The past year has seemed like a decade; Each of us stronger, this has hopefully made. The reality is grimmer than any fiction known; It has made us grieve and cry and mourn. With hope in my heart, I bow my head; Asking God to deliver us from this dread!

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


Amin Ladak
Amin Ladak
May 31, 2023

Another lovely piece

Like
bottom of page